Too different?!

Too different?!

I feel too different sometimes and I don’t know how I feel about it. It depends greatly on what situation and I don’t like to use the word different too much as it makes me feel sometimes less of a person. But some days I feel like and I know I am treated differently, especially in more ways then one.

I said before I felt guilty for feeling disabled and different on some days but then other days I am fighting to get what typical people get without any problems or issues.

I tried to get life insurance and got told by one company that I have been refused. When I asked why, they said it was down to my answers on the form. I asked which answers and they explained that my recent diagnosis, which I know is my autism, they didn’t actually say so as he just kept saying it was my answers. I said that I felt that was discrimination against my condition, treating me differently as that is the only thing that has changed and they just apologied and said that they don’t insure people like me. 
I couldn’t believe it but at the same time I sort of knew that this would start to be like this. I would start to be treated different. It is not the first time I’ve been told I can’t have or do something because of my diagnosis. I don’t know what I am supposed to do it’s tough enough trying to fit in and then I get treated differently. I know sometimes I need to be treated differently but I don’t know what is best sometimes – I just feel stuck in the middle of being different and not knowing what is best! Is there such a thing of being too different?!

Leave a comment